Quickwrite: Ruined Lore

DISCLAIMER: Inspired by The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe.

DISCLAIMER II: Sorry I’ve been a bit lax on quick-writes this month, I’m working on a story for September in the time I have off work. In the meantime, enjoy this short poem.

One day as I was sitting writing
Softly then I heard a scratching,
As of someone gently pawing,
Pawing at my chamber door.
Wearily I rose from sitting
As this fiend kept me from napping
And so slowly I was walking that it seemed an hour more
To admit this beast behind my door. 
So softly it came padding 
Across the page where I was writing
That my words became so fuddled as to be forgotten lore.
Now my weariness was growing 
And my temper short to showing 
That I urged the fiendish feline to exeunt behind my door.  
Weeping for my ruined lore
I surely shut and locked the door
And whispered to the faintest scratching,
"Enter here, now nevermore."

Leave a comment